Seven Illustrious Alumni Honoured on May 13, 2016

Click on each inductee’s name to link to a video about them.

Emily Carr (VHS 1888) one of Canada’s most world-renowned artists.

Torchy (VHS 1924) and Doug Peden (VHS 1933) accomplished athletes, who each represented Canada in numerous Olympic sports.

Thomas W. Mayne (VHS 1935) was a beloved Vic High teacher forover 30 years, but might be best remembered as the force behind the school’s Calamity Players skits at assemblies.

Dr. Norma Mickelson (VHS 1944) became the first woman Chancellor at the University of Victoria (1997-2002) after a distinguished career that included serving as UVic’s Dean of Education. She is a member of the Order of British Columbia and the Order of Canada.

Dr. A.J. Stewart Smith (VHS 1955) is a renowned particle physicist based at Princeton University in New Jersey, and will make the trip back to accept the award from the school for which he has a deep fondness (see his memoir on our Alumni website: go to, click on Archives, then Tales from the Attic, then “April 2015: Victoria High School in the 1950s”).

Hans de Goede (VHS 1971) played rugby for Vic High and went on to represent Canada 24 times in international competition. He was twice named to the All-World XV, and is a member of both the Victoria Sports Hall of Fame and the BC Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2014 inductees were Jim Taylor (VHS 1955, sports columnist/humourist), Dr. Maria Tippett (VHS 1962, cultural historian), Richard Hunt (VHS 1971, native artist/carver) and Jessica Monroe-Gonin (VHS 1984, Olympic gold/silver medallist in rowing).

TM        NormaMickelson2        Stewart Smith2        Hans DeGoede2

Tommy Mayne         Norma Mickelson           Stewart Smith             Hans deGoede

Torchy&Doug PedenEmily Carr 2

Emily Carr                    The Peden Brothers