Black and Gold Dinner – 2016

 Illustrious Alumni to Be Honoured on May 13

Book Your Tickets to This Year’s Big Alumni Event 

World-famous artist Emily Carr will head a distinguished list of honourees at the second Victoria High School Black and Gold dinner to be held at the CFB Esquimalt Wardroom on Friday May 13, 2016.

Tickets for the gala affair, which will include a cocktail hour before dinner, are $100 each with a $50 tax receipt for each ticket purchased. Group rates are available for those wishing to reserve tables of eight.

Tickets may be obtained from Anne McKeachie at 250-472-1661 or email Alternatively, you can use the ticket order form – Click here. Print and complete the form, and send it to the Vic High Alumni Association c/o 1260 Grant Street, Victoria BC  V8T 1C2.

In all, seven people, including two brothers, will be introduced as Illustrious Alumni during the evening, which will build on the success of the inaugural event presented by the Alumni Association in May 2014. That was the kick-off to a four-day celebration marking the 100th anniversary of the current Vic High building on Grant Street.

The two posthumous awards will be made to Carr, one of Canada’s leading artists who attended Vic High in 1888, and “Torchy” and Doug Peden, who represented Canada in different Olympic sports.

Emily Carr 2

Torchy&Doug Peden

The four others to be honoured as Illustrious Alumni are long-time teacher Tommy Mayne, educator Norma Mickelson, physicist Stewart Smith and rugby star Hans de Goede.

Thomas W. Mayne (VHS 1935) was a beloved Vic High teacher forover 30 years, but might be best remembered as the force behind the school’s Calamity Players skits at assemblies.

Dr. Norma Mickelson (VHS 1944) became the first woman Chancellor at the University of Victoria (1997-2002) after a distinguished career that included serving as UVic’s Dean of Education. She is a member of the Order of British Columbia and the Order of Canada.

Dr. A.J. Stewart Smith (VHS 1955) is a renowned particle physicist based at Princeton University in New Jersey, and will make the trip back to accept the award from the school for which he has a deep fondness (see his memoir on our Alumni website: go to, click on Archives, then Tales from the Attic, then “April 2015: Victoria High School in the 1950s”).

Hans de Goede (VHS 1971) played rugby for Vic High and went on to represent Canada 24 times in international competition. He was twice named to the All-World XV, and is a member of both the Victoria Sports Hall of Fame and the BC Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2014 inductees were Jim Taylor (VHS 1955, sports columnist/humourist), Dr. Maria Tippett (VHS 1962, cultural historian), Richard Hunt (VHS 1971, native artist/carver) and Jessica Monroe-Gonin (VHS 1984, Olympic gold/silver medallist in rowing).

The selection and organizing committee, again headed by Anne McKeachie (VHS 1968), has lined up six video presentations after an arduous selection process from a list of hundreds of deserving Vic High alums. 

TM        NormaMickelson2        Stewart Smith2        Hans DeGoede2
Tom Mayne              Norma Mickelson        Stewart Smith             Hans deGoede


Comments are closed.